Riverton Yacht Club


Governor's Cup History & Past Winners

The Riverton Yacht Club Governor's Cup trophy was donated by New Jersey Governor Alfred Eastlak Driscoll in 1949 as a perpetual trophy to encourage the skippers of each racing class to have a greater number of boats entered each year and keep them sailing in every race. While in office the governor made the trophy presentations.

Governor Driscoll (b.1902, d.1975) was one of the few New Jersey governors that resided in South Jersey. His residence was in Haddonfield. Driscoll was very popular and had a long list of accomplishments while governor that affect our everyday lives.

2009 Winners

Gary Swangler, RYC,  THREE AMIGOS  J-24

1st Keith Donald SSA
2nd Bob Lippincott SSA
3rd Laura Beigel SSA
1st Jim Irwin RYC
2nd Ted &Terry Rapp RYC
3rd Greg Maute & Ryan Lippincott RYC
1st Pete Denton RYC
2nd Allan Crew RYC
3rd Bart Nicholson RYC
1st Frank Pelosi RYC
2nd Dave Oldham RYC
3rd Dan Walsh RYC
PHRF FLEET (A & B combined)
1st Gary Swangler RYC  J-24
2nd Joe Devaney J-27
3rd Fred White RYC Merit 25



Governors Cup Champions

1949 Robert C. Thompson Star
1950 Howard F. Lippincott Comet
1951 Robert C. Thompson Star
1952 J. Robert Seidleman Comet
1953 Al Williams Thistle
1954 Robert L. Lippincott Star
1955 David C. Oberg Moth
1956 Albert J. Williams Thistle
1957 Howard F. Lippincott Star
1958 Norman D. Freeman Thistle
1959 Howard F. Lippincott Star
1960 Ed Walsh Thistle
1961 Robert Hohlefelder Celebrity
1962 Kaighn Smith Thistle
1963 Frederick Steiner Star
1964 Robert Seidleman Lightning
1965 Ed Walsh Thistle
1966 Jim Greenfield Star
1967 Larry Rodgers Sunfish
1968 J. Morton Sork Celebrity
1969 Ed Walsh Thistle
1972 Jim Lippincott Star
1973 George Stewart Celebrity
1974 Ted Rapp Star
1975 George Stewart Celebrity
1976 John Morton Star
1977 Franz Schneider Lightning
1978 David C. Oberg Comet
1979 David C. Oberg Star
1980 Ray Szuluzewski Mariner
1981 John Mendes Duster
1982 Bill Washington Mariner
1983 Ted & Terry Rapp Cruising
1984 Harry Loeb GP-14
1985 John A Mac Causland Comet
1986 Richard Martin Star
1987 Huck Eltonhead Cruising
1988 Jim Greenfield J-24
1989 Huck Eltonhead Cruising
1990 Bob Seidleman J24
1991 Hank Croft Cruising
1992 Terry & Ted Rapp Cruising
1993 Robert Bush Lightning
1994 Don Hoefle Cruising
1995 Michael Greeberg & Bob Me GP-14
1996 Mike Hecky Cruising
1997 Dave & Dave Oldham Mariner
1998 Stephen Metteldorf Cruising
1999 Ted Rapp & Bill Graff Mariner
2000 Rob Seidelmann Cruising
2001 Dave & Dave Oldham Mariner
2002 Dave & Dave Oldham Mariner
2003 Jon Burnham Cruising
2004 Rich Martin Mariner
2005 Gary Swangler / Three Amigos Cruising
2006 Chris Fretz Mariner
2007 Rob Seidelmann Cruising
2008 Dave Oldham Mariner