Riverton Yacht Club
Riverton Yacht Club


Governor's Cup Award Criterion


For a fleet to be eligible to compete for the Governor's cup the following is required.

  1. The fleet must have competed with at least three boats the previous sailing season and the minimum fleet size shall be five boats when competing for the cup.. No first year fleets shall be eligible to compete for the Governor’s Cup.
  2. To defend the Governor’s Cup the Cup holder’s fleet must have increased year to year by at least one boat. If the Cruising fleet won the Cup in a Fleet of 10 boats, the cruising fleet must have 11 competing in order to be eligible to compete this year. The number of boats competing shall be considered the largest number of registered competitors to start a race.


The scoring will be a low point system where the finish position will be divided by the number of competitors in each race. If the number of competitors varies during the regatta the computation shall consider the number of racers in each individual race. To adjust the score for fleets sailing different numbers of races, the sum shall be divided by the number of races. There are no throw outs.


  Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5 Sum Sum/Races
Finishes 1 2 1 3 5    
Competitors 12 12 12 9 9    
  0.083333 0.166667 0.083333 0.333333 0.555556 1.222222 0.244444
Finishes 1 3 2 5      
Competitors 12 12 12 9      
  0.083333 0.250000 0.166667 0.555556   1.055556 0.263889
Finishes 1 2 2 1 1    
Competitors 6 6 6 5 5    
  0.166667 0.333333 0.333333 0.200000 0.200000 1.233333 0.246667

The formula is designed to reward performance for doing well in larger fleets and encourage individual fleets to promote participation.

Tie Break Criterion shall be as follows:

In the event of a tie, the competitor with the most first place finishes will be awarded the Governor's Cup. If both competitors are still equal the second and third place finishes will be used to determine the ultimate winner. In the event there remains a tie, the fleet which has the largest growth from last year shall be awarded the cup.